The purpose of the Architecture for REDD+ Transactions (“ART”) is to promote the environmental and social integrity and ambition of carbon emission reductions from the forest and land use sector and to recognize forest countries that deliver high quality REDD+ emission reductions.

The initial establishment of ART has been guided by an Interim Steering Committee (ISC), working with a Secretariat. A number of Technical Committees have provided input to the development of the TREES Standard.

The ISC role is phasing out during 2019 and formal governance of the ART will be established under an international Board of Directors. ISC members have served, and Board members will serve, in their personal capacities, not as representatives of their organizations or of particular stakeholder groups.

Lorenzo Bernasconi (Rockefeller Foundation)

Andreas Dahl-Jorgensen (Norwegian International Climate and Forest Initiative)

Nat Keohane (Environmental Defense Fund)

Dan Zarin (Climate and Land Use Alliance)

ART will be governed by an independent Board of Directors, the members of which represent a diverse group of objective, globally recognized experts, who will be responsible for strategic guidance and for ensuring the program’s environmental and social integrity. The Board will oversee ART’s implementation in accordance with the evolving UNFCCC processes and will guarantee good governance, transparent rules, and processes that assure quality and adequate safeguards. ART Board members have been appointed and will officially convene after the launch of ART and the announcement of the stakeholder consultation process for TREES.

Frances Seymour

Abdon Nababan

Dr. Carlos Nobre

Dr. Dan Zarin

Pavan Sukhdev

Dr. Agnes Kalibata

William Bumpers

The ART Secretariat, hosted by Winrock International, is responsible for the operation of the ART program, including the development of The REDD+ Environmental Excellency Standard (TREES) and overseeing the registration, verification and issuance of Board-approved TREES emissions reductions on a transparent registry.

John Kadyszewski

Mary Grady

Dr. Timothy Pearson

Jessica Orrego

Christina Magerkurth, P.E.

Lauren Nichols

The ART Secretariat is advised by three expert technical committees for the development of TREES. Committee members serve in their individual capacities.

The TREES Standard Committee See Team

The TREES Verification Committee See Team

The TREES Safeguards Committee See Team